My Crew: that’s what friends are for

Although one of my favourite Rancid songs is about a guy having his friends around after a breakup, I can’t help but think of this song as my theme song for 2013! Honestly, it has been a “bad year, a lot to go through / I’ve been knocked out, beat down, black and blue,” but I know that I’ve got friends around to help me back up again. In fact, “I’m very lucky to have my crew.”

“Fall Back Down,” from Rancid’s album Indestructible. Fall Back Down

friends

This idea of having friends around and the mysteriousness that surrounds friendship is nothing new. Katherine Philips was writing about friendship in the mid-1600s. In her poem “Friendship’s Mystery, To my Dearest Lucasia,” Philips writes:

Divided joyes are tedious found,
And griefs united easier grow:
. . .
Our Hearts are mutual Victims laid,
While they (such power in Friendship lies)
Are Altars, Priests, and Off’rings made :
And each Heart which thus kindly dies,
Grows deathless by the Sacrifice.

Having a friend who understands, listens, and accepts is a mystery. I think that we look for and need people to support us, yet we are often let down by others. That being said, there is a mystery to true friendship. I know that the members of “my crew” are there to help me back up again, are there to share in my joys, are there to listen to my griefs, and are there to open up to me and trust that I will do the same.

birds

Family is family (and I LOVE my family!), yet friends are something completely different and wonderful. You choose to invite friends into your life and in return, you willingly step into the lives of others. There is a mystery to our willingness to be open and vulnerable to others in such a trusting way. I suppose it might come down to that old cliché: birds of a feather flock together.

On that note, I can’t help but send you over to this classic because “that’s what friends are for.” Enjoy!

There are friends who destroy each other, but a real friend sticks closer than a brother. (Proverbs 18:24)

Leave a Reply

