Balance: double bounce

If you stand behind me in line at the grocery store you’ll notice that I have a habit of buying things in twos: dental floss, tea, pasta, toothpaste, apples. I’m not sure why I like twos so much, but buying things in two tends to lend balance to my adventures at the grocery store. Even when I’m at the book store, I can’t walk out with just one book, I usually walk out with two.

muppet
Source: http://muppet.wikia.com/wiki/Two-Headed_Monster

I decided that to stay fit, to relax, and to meet new people this Fall that I would join a dance class. I decided on Funk for Beginners. I knew when I signed up that I am very much so a dance beginner, but I love funk music. Something about the need to move when listening to funk brings me joy. I can remember dancing around the house when I was little to James Brown “I Feel Good.” I’m sure my parents were happy that I found a way to get rid of my seemingly endless energy!

During the first class I was happy to learn that one of the main features to funk music is the double bounce. Funk asks its dancers to recognize the double beat and to move accordingly. I think that I have found the perfect class: music, exercise, and TWOS!

james

So I will continue in my habits of creating balance in my life knowing that I’m in good company! And I’ll be listening to funk along the way!

funk
Source: http://zoobloguers.wordpress.com/2009/05/27/i-afro-funk

A time to weep, and a time to laugh; a time to mourn, and a time to dance. (Ecclesiastes 3:4)

Leave a Reply

