“We Were Liars”: mind games

We Were Liars, E. Lockhart. What?! If you have read the book, you know. If you have not read the book, according to the jacket cover, “If anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.”

This was another work Book Club book where the students chose it. No one predicted what the outcome would be, but now that I’ve finished reading it, all my questions along the way are finally answered.

liars
Source: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/16143347-we-were-liars

Some of my favourite things:
-It included a map and a family tree.
-It included a few twists and turns.
-It was shocking and upsetting.
-It had rewritten Fairy Tales.
-Like any good thriller, it had clues along the way.
-I actually hated some of the characters and was disgusted by their actions.

So, well done E. Lockhart. Even if I wanted to guess and predict what the book was about, there is no way I would have gone where she went. That being said, I can’t wait to get back to work so I can talk with the Book Club about their reactions.

**SPOILER** If you wanted to read the book, stop reading this blog! 🙂

What is it about human nature that has us so fascinated with mystery and the supernatural? I think of myself and my love for the bizarre. Tim Burton movies. The X-Files. Supernatural. The Others. That idea of what happens to us after death is something that at times consumes our thoughts. I know that I believe in ghosts and spirits on earth. I’m not sure I fully understand ghosts or why I believe in them, yet it is just something that intuitively makes sense to me. So, reading We Were Liars poses a great question: are ghosts real or are they things that our minds make up?

ghost
Source: http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/2013/10/28/most-haunted-canada-place_n_4169116.html

Our minds are capable of a lot, including keeping us safe after traumatic experiences. I like to think that if We Were Liars was a movie it would be a beautiful mix between Fight Club and The Others. In the book, the main character Cadence spends an entire summer with her cousins in a beach house on her Grandfather’s East Coast island. At the end of the summer it is revealed that her cousins are dead and have been dead for two years. So, were the cousins ghosts or creations of her mind trying to protect her from the awful truth?

A group did some research on brains and how they can create ‘ghosts’:
“We show that when there is some damage to the brain or some trick played by a robot, a second representation of our body arises in a way that gets perceived by us but not as our body but as the presence of another human being. Physically this presence is already hidden inside our minds.” How bizarre! Our brains are so fascinating and it is amazing what they can do in order to shield and protect us.

That being said, I still like to believe that the spirit world is close by and that in those special thin spaces we are able to connect more closely with those we have loved and lost. And I know I’m not the only one interested in ghosts, because Canada Post has created a whole series of stamps that pay homage to the most famous ghosts of Canada.

stamps
Source: http://canadianstampnews.com/halloween-also-includes-coins-stamps/

“Dust returns to the ground it came from, and the spirit returns to God who gave it.” (Ecclesiastes 12:7)
“Be sad, be sorry-but don’t shoulder it.” (E. Lockhart)

liar
Source: https://www.pinterest.com/butlerpublic/we-were-liars/

Leave a Reply

