“Once Upon a Time”: trust, hope, believe

I am usually late in jumping into trends, and mostly on purpose. Yet I think that waiting often times works for me (expect for in the case of watching E.T. as an adult . . . hated it!). I was late to watch and love the TV show Once Upon a Time, but the timing of me watching it has been perfect.

once-upon-a-time-1
Source: https://pearlsofprofundity.wordpress.com/2013/08/07/once-upon-a-time/

The TV show is about North America’s understanding of fairy tales. The show includes Snow White, Prince Charming, the Evil Queen, Belle, Rumpelstiltskin, Peter Pan, Captain Hook, the seven dwarfs, Ariel, Prince Eric, Mulan, the Wicked Witch, Dorothy, and the list goes on. Yet that is not my favourite part of the TV show. The best part, and the part that I needed this week, was the emphasis on the goodness in life. The potential for people to change. The push to have faith. The power of believing.

believe
Source: https://www.pinterest.com/gretchenwinkler/once-upon-a-time/

Trust: “have a little faith in me / I’ll have a little faith in you.” Trusting others is hard to do and it often is what holds us back from amazing things. That is why I love Michael Franti’s song “Have a Little Faith.” He writes about the strength it takes to trust in others and the outcome of that trust: “Even though I fumble and fall / Don’t let it go / And when the rain falls down / You know the flower’s gonna bloom.”

Trusting people is hard. Several characters in Once Upon a Time have their lives changed depending on the trust they place in others. The issue I have this week is trusting a corporation/board for a job. It’s more than just one person I have to trust in this week: it’s an entire system of people. Yet, the TV show has reminded me of the power of faith and believing.

So this week while watching Once Upon a Time I have been reminded that even though things may look bleak, there is something beyond and the sorrow may only last for a moment (even if it seems forever). But belief and trust and hope aren’t the only things, as Captain Hook would say, . . .

Captain-Hook
Source: http://www.buzzquotes.com/hook-quotes-captain-hook

I am fighting for my job. I am not being inactive. Yet I also have a lot of hope and belief that things will change and I will get the job I deserve. So thank you Once Upon a Time for encouraging me this week with your fun TV show. And yes, I am aware that not everyone gets their happy ending (look at Regina at the end of season 3!!), yet I have hope it will happen for me!

There is always hope.

There is always hope.


Source: https://www.pinterest.com/pin/575405289864697899/

“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 15:13)

“Good will win.” (Henry, Once Upon a Time)

hope
Source: http://www.fanforum.com/f373/fairest-%5Bsnow-mary%7Cgg%5D-30-i-would-have-taken-character-even-if-just-play-mary-margaret-~-ginny-63099406/index9.html

Leave a Reply

